Texas Historical Documents

The Governors of Texas




James Pinckney Henderson Feb 19 1846-Dec 21, 1847
Albert Clinton Horton May 19, 1846-Nov 13, 1846 Acted as governor while Henderson was at war in Mexico.
George Tyler Wood Dec 21, 1847-Dec 21,1849
Peter Hansborough Bell Dec 21, 1849-Nov 23, 1853 Resigned to enter U.S. Congress.
James Wilson Henderson Nov 23,1853-Dec 21, 1853 Became governor when Bell entered Congress.
Elisha Marshall Pease Dec 21, 1853-Dec 21,1857
Hardin Richard Runnels Dec 21,1857-Dec 21,1859
Samuel Houston Dec 21, 1859-Mar 16, 1861 Deposed when he refused oath of allegiance to Confederacy.
Edward Clark Mar 16, 1861-Nov 7,1861
Francis Richard Lubbock Nov 7, 1861-Nov 5, 1863 Retired to serve as advisor for Confederate Army
Pendleton Murrah Nov 5, 1863-Jun 17,1865 Administration ended with fall of Confederacy
Fletcher S. Stockdale Jun 17, 1865-Jul 21,1865 Served as acting governor when Murrah fled to Mexico. Removed by U.S. authorities.
Andrew Jackson Hamilton Jul 21,1865-Aug 9, 1866 Provisional governor
James Webb Throckmorton Aug 9, 1866-Aug 8,1867 Removed by U.S. military
Elisha Marshall Pease Aug 8,1867-Sep 30, 1869 Provisional governor (appointed) resigned, leaving state without governor until Jan 8, 1870.
Edmund Jackson Davis Jan 8, 1870-Jan 15,1874 Elected, then appointed provisional governor.
Richard Coke Jan 15, 1874-Dec 1, 1876 Resigned to enter U.S. Senate
Richard Bennett Hubbard Dec 1, 1876-Jan 21,1879
Oran Milo Roberts Jan 21, 1879-Jan 16, 1883
John Ireland Jan 16, 1883-Jan 18,1887
Lawrence Sullivan Ross Jan 18,1887-Jan 20,1891
James Stephen Hogg Jan 20,1891-Jan 15,1895 First Texas born governor.
Charles Allen Culberson Jan 15, 1895-Jan 17,1899
Joseph Draper Sayers Jan 17,1899-Jan 20,1903
Samuel Willis Tucker Lanham Jan 20,1903-Jan 15,1907 Last Confederate veteran to be governor
Thomas Mitchell Campbell Jan 15,1907-Jan 19, 1911
Oscar Branch Colquitt Jan 19, 1911-Jan 19,1915
James Edward Ferguson Jan 19, 1915-Aug 25, 1917 Impeached.
William Pettus Hobby Aug 25, 1917-Jan 18, 1921
Pat Morris Neff Jan 18, 1921-Jan 20, 1925
Miriam Amanda Ferguson Jan 20, 1925-Jan 17, 1927 Second woman elected governor in the United States.
Daniel James Moody, Jr Jan 17, 1927- Jan 20, 1931
Ross Shaw Sterling Jan 20, 1931-Jan 17, 1933
Miriam Amanda Ferguson Jan 17, 1933-Jan 15, 1935
James Allred Jan 15, 1935-Jan 17, 1939
Wilbert Lee O'Daniel Jan 17, 1939-Aug 4, 1941 Resigned to enter U.S. Senate.
Coke Robert Stevenson Aug 4, 1941-Jan 21, 1947
Beauford Halbert Jester Jan 21, 1947-Jul 11, 1949 First governor to die in office.
Robert Allan Shivers Jul 11, 1949- Jan 15, 1957 First governor to be elected to three consecutive terms.
Marion Price Daniel, Sr. Jan 15, 1957-Jan 15, 1963 Three terms.
John Bowden Connally, Jr. Jan 15, 1963-Jan 21, 1969 Three terms.
Preston Smith Jan 21, 1969-Jan 16, 1973
Dolph Briscoe Jan 16, 1973-Jan 16, 1979 First governor elected to a four-year term (1974).
William P. Clement Jan 16, 1979- Jan 18, 1983 First Republican governor since Reconstruction.
Mark White Jan 18, 1983- Jan 20 1987
William P. Clements Jan 20, 1987-Jan 15, 1991
Ann W. Richards Jan 15, 1991- Jan 17, 1995
George W. Bush Jan 17, 1995 Dec 21, 2000 Resigned to take the office of President of the United States
Rick Perry Dec 21, 2000 - Jan 20, 2014
Greg Abbott Jan 20, 2014 - present

© 1998 - - R. McSpadden - All rights reserved
. . . more from texasbob.com
The information contained in this website is for general information purposes only. The information is provided by Texas Bob Media Services and while we endeavor to keep the information up to date and correct, we make no representations or warranties of any kind, express or implied, about the completeness, accuracy, reliability, suitability or availability with respect to the website or the information, products, services, or related graphics contained on the website for any purpose. Any reliance you place on such information is therefore strictly at your own risk. In no event will we be liable for any loss or damage including without limitation, indirect or consequential loss or damage, or any loss or damage whatsoever arising from loss of data or profits arising out of, or in connection with, the use of this website. Through this website you are able to link to other websites which are not under the control of Texas Bob Media Services. We have no control over the nature, content and availability of those sites. The inclusion of any links does not necessarily imply a recommendation or endorse the views expressed within them. Every effort is made to keep the website up and running smoothly. However, Texas Bob Media Services takes no responsibility for, and will not be liable for, the website being temporarily unavailable due to technical issues beyond our control.